My New Space

Image 24I want to share my new workspace/studio. Well, not really my new space. It’s the same space, just revamped. Whatever it is, it feels good. It’s organized. Imagine that. Sir G had a big hand in this. I’m not a naturally super organized person, but he is. He saw how things could be different and helped make that happen. To him, it’s all about having what you need.

Having the shelving, drawers and files I Image 25need has made a huge difference to me. I don’t walk in, then want to walk out because I don’t feel like digging for what I want through the mess. I don’t feel like I have to clean up before I can get to work. It’s so nice! I especially love my new paper file. Truth be told, the new work table has me a bit nervous about destroying it, but it’s there to be used, so I’m not going to stress. I Image 9figure it’s like a car, the first coffee spill is the hardest…

I hesitate to show you these photos. I don’t want it to come off wrong, show-offy. That’s not what I’m after. I’m showing them because I am opening up my space to creative workshops, art nights, etc….(first bring-your-own-project- art-night Sept. 3) and I want people to see what the space looks like. This is only half of it. There is another room with lots of table space I want to show, but I currently have two teenagers sleeping there at 11:00 am in the morning, who stayed up all night playing computer games with my son, who is headed back to college in a few days…….So, no pictures of that area right now. It’s nice though.

Image 8The other thing I love about my studio, is that it is right off my kitchen. Seriously, I can’t think of anything better than floating between my kitchen and studio, which is what I pretty much did all weekend.

I talk a lot about quality of life and how it’s not about how much money you have, but how you live that makes a difference. I totally believe that. It is the little things that make a difference. I totally and sincerely believe you can create nice spaces with what you have and what can be had for free or not much money. However, there is a helluva lot to be said for having the opportunity to upgrade when you can. Whatever works for you, works fine. This is a wonderful thing for Image 10me, to be able to update the space. I don’t take it for granted. And, I’m very excited to be able to share it with others.

Sir G has taught me a few things. While, I’m all about making due with what you have, his philosophy is that you need the right tools for the job you are doing. Though it’s not his profession now, at one point he was a carpenter, and still does carpentry work Image 6quite often. He’s a really good craftsman. He does things right. He also has the right tools to do the job, it’s important to him. He’s shown me what a difference it makes to have the proper tools for what you are trying to do, whether it be cooking, making art, building a house, whatever….. I won’t argue. He’s right.  Good tools make a difference, though I’ll stick to my guns and say, using what you have when that’s all you have, works too. :  )

So, now that I have a wonderful new space that I pretty much plant myself in every day, I should have my new website up and running soon, new classes and offerings posted, etc….In the mean time, contact me if you are interested in anything specific I’m not showing here yet. If you want to come to my first bring-your-own-project art night, let me know.

Are you interested in an in-home cooking class/party? Do you need help with an event? Are you interested in something else? Send me an email and I’ll get back to you. cindyallen09@gmail.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

