Asian Noodle Soup

Image 5Sometimes, a lot of times actually, I like to get a general idea of how something is put together, so I can just do it and get it done and it will taste okay. I wing Asian Noodle Soup now and then.

There are a few ingredients I need to add, to give it the flavor I’m looking for; fresh ginger, green onions and cilantro. The combination of those three make it taste Asian for me for sure. I also need garlic, soy and Saracha to really complete it. After that it’s all about the broth, protein, veggies and noodles.

I started with a chopped yellow onion, a few cloves of garlic and at least an inch of peeled, chopped Image 10ginger. I LOVE the smell of fresh ginger! I sauteed all of this in some avocado oil (higher heal tolerance than olive oil) for 5 minutes or so.

Since my son is vegan now. I wanted the main soup to be vegan for him. I added 2 of those large boxes of organic vegetable broth and let it simmer while I chopped the veggies. Use whatever you want. I used; julienne cut carrots, broccoli, snow peas, baby portabella, oyster and a few I-don’t-know-the-names-of mushrooms I picked up at the farmers market. I cut and add the veggies that take the longest to cook first. I started with carrots and mushrooms (since I don’t care how soft the Image 6mushrooms get, they can go in early), I added the rest of the veggies, chopped up the cilantro and added that along with a pound of cubed extra firm tofu (protein for vegan son). Salt and pepper to taste. Add some soy for flavor (1/4 cup? more? whatever). Add some Siracha for kick. (shown in photo)

I cooked shrimp and had that on the side. I cooked brown rice noodles according to the package directions and also had those on the side. Cut green onions – some in the soup, some on the side for extra flavor on top.

Image 11To assemble. Put some noodles in a bowl. Ladle veggies and soup on top. Add extra shrimp and green onions as desired. Voila. It’s pretty fast and easy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

