Are JujyFruits Alkaline?

This is lunch, but I think I ate it at 9:00 am. Close enough. Hungry. This is “alkaline week”  for me (or two, or less, don’t know yet…..) I am trying to focus on eating and drinking alkaline foods vs acidic ones.

Every now and then I like to try different things out to see if they make me feel good, give me more energy, give me a healthy glow, shave off 20 years, finish my taxes :  )…..If I pick up any new ideas, foods or knowledge that I want to keep in my repertoire, that’s cool…I never go into these things thinking this is “it” for the rest of my life. Too rigid. I’d never make it.

Last year I went vegan for 6 weeks. MAN did I feel good. After a week I felt like a race horse, I kid you not. I have a very physical life. I need to feel good. I need energy. Those six weeks were awesome! I had energy to burn. After a full day of work I was casting about for ways to burn off extra energy – a run, a workout, both….

What made it good for me was also it’s downfall. Eating vegan takes thought. You have to think about what you are putting in your mouth. “Is this vegan?” Just doing that prevents a lot of mindless snacking and eating. The bad part was, it was so restrictive I felt like I was being punished, like I wasn’t allowed to eat what everyone else was. I missed the texture of meats, fish and cheese. I started worrying about so much soy. It was hard for me to grab quick protein too. Now, if I want to pack cheap and easy protein I’ll boil a bunch of eggs and take them with me. Vegan is not so easy. Still, though I went off it after six weeks, I picked up good habits by doing so, got some benefits and learned a thing or two. I consider that a success.

Back to “Alkaline Week” Several years ago I went to a nutritionist because I was really stressing, not eating much, skinny, was not feeling too hot and I wanted to know what to eat to get “the most bang for my buck”. Meaning, what should I eat if I’m hardly eating anything? Those were tough times, what can I say. Glad they are over. Very….

Anyway, one thing she had me do was go on a two week fast of sorts, called an “elimination diet” to eliminate highly acidic foods and balance the pH in my body. Apparently, being “alkaline” is very good and healthy, “acidic” not so much. Americans are mostly acidic. No surprise. Long story short while eliminating other foods, she had me make a concoction of parsley, celery, green beans, spinach, and I’m not sure what else, and drink it three times a day. She said I would “glow” when I was finished with the two week fast. I did. I felt great, even though I lost 6 more pounds.

Recently, all of this came back to me when I came across a great website, http://kriscarr.com/about/, Kris Carr, Home of the Crazy Sexy Wellness Revolution. She is a cancer survivor who was diagnosed 9 years ago with an incurable, untreatable form of cancer.  I love her energy. You should check out her site, the woman exudes health and happiness. “I’ll have what she’s having!” If you are interested, there is more information on the alkaline diet and healthy living in general. She is now a vegan, who eats a plant based, Alkaline leaning diet. This is what she writes:

“My wake-up call encouraged me to make a total lifestyle upgrade inside and out. It taught me how to listen to my brilliant inner guide, brought me back to nature (my church), the garden and kitchen (my pharmacies), and connected me more deeply with the people and animals who set my heart ablaze. I learned that a nutrient dense, plant-passionate diet rules, the Standard American Diet destroys (everything), stress sucks (all life-force), exercise is non-negotiable (great for your head, heart, cells and ass-ets), joy is utterly contagious, and having fun must be taken very seriously.

Don’t you love her? I do. I need a blender. She promotes juicing and smoothing too....I’m in! That’s one of those things I can hang onto, as part of my permanent repertoire. It’s a great way to fill up on loads of good, healthy stuff.

So, I just thought I’d share what I’m doing and share what I think is a great website. I’m thinking that just focusing on eating highly alkaline foods this week will help remind me to incorporate them regularly once I ease up on my focus. Maybe I won’t ease up. Who knows. The pictures on this page are all foods I ate today. Tell me it doesn’t look good. I was in heaven. But, it’s not anything I wouldn’t normally eat either. A big plus, I passed up the JujyFruits and ate a banana (alkaline) instead. :  ) Feeling virtuous.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

