Taking my own advice…..

I have a firm belief that you should not wait until everything is perfect before jumping in with both feet and doing something you want to do. As long as you are reasonably prepared, I say go for it. I built my business on that theory. I had an idea, a need and I pulled the trigger. It wasn’t until after it got rolling that I did all the things most people think should be done before getting started; market research, write a business plan, etc…. It was more important for me to get moving and get started than to get bogged down in details. I believe in that approach. Forward momentum is more important than perfection.

So, what’s the problem? I haven’t been writing on this site because I want to redesign the layout. I’m designing a new logo, which isn’t ready, so I haven’t redesigned the site, so I haven’t been writing because it all isn’t “perfectly” the way I want it. This is totally against what I believe, so I’m giving myself a kick in the pants and permission to write. I want to tell you about some new things I have in the works…

I put out a lot of physical energy every day. My work and my play are very physical. I am in good shape and weight isn’t an issue. However, I was starting to develop some really bad eating habits because I would get so ravenous. I feel like a teenage boy at times with all the food I put away! The day I walked in the door for a minute and started spreading brownies w/ fudge sauce then ate the homemade cookies a customer gave me, I knew I needed to make some changes.  I wanted to fuel my body for energy, not set myself up for diabetes!

So, I decided to do an experiment and try veganism for a month. I never wanted to give it a try because it sounded so restrictive and boring. I like meat. I like dairy. I love food! However, I wanted to see what would happen. I dove in. I am on day 11 and I cannot tell you what a wonderful difference it has made!!! Near the end of the first week, I noticed a definite increase in energy. Not only was I easily handling a heavy physical work schedule, I was running, skiing, taking Zumba, yoga, weight training, etc….on top of it with more, not less energy. It was like my body was looking for ways to burn it.  I  noticed that I was shaving time off of work itself too, something I had tried but had been unable to do in the past. I have lost 5 lbs, so far, without restricting quantities at all. It just happened. The best part is that I’m loving the food! My teenage boys love it too! (I just don’t lable it “vegan” and they are okay…)

Have I sold you on veganism yet? I have decided to offer a hands-on cooking class using my favorite vegan recipes at the end of my month long experiment. So, if you are interested in a hands-on, fun, informative class, you can email me at cindy@cindyallenshine.com, or keep checking here. I’ll post specifics within the next week or two.

I will also be offering a hands-on fresh pasta making class in May. Again, email me or check back in a week or so.

More new things……

I am soooo excited to be developing a workshop that will be offered this summer called, “It’s Never Too Late”. I won’t go into details yet, but it is specifically for women making big life changes.  My life turned upside down in my early forties. It was the most difficult, yet wonderful (eventually) experience I could imagine. I was broken and scared to death, yet came through it strong, with a new life path that brings me joy every day. I understand the fear and obstacles you face making big changes in mid life. If you are contemplating change or having change forced upon you, this will be a great workshop for you. Stay tuned…..

That’s about all I have for today. I need to work on that design project……..

 

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

